New Year Racing.

The year ended for Great Bentley with 9 runners taking part in the Flitch Way Marathon, an out and back route mostly on a disused railway line. Chris Warren was second overall in 3 hours and 3 minutes exactly. Ben Ficken followed in 7th place in 3 hours 20 minutes and 41 seconds. Paul Carlisle clocked 3:50:43, Helene Tyler 5:35:50 and Rodger Alexander 4:15:50. Samantha Godden, Shawn Leek, Jamie Neill and Janine Simpson ran as a group, finishing in 4:50:48.

2015  began with a flurry of New Years Day Parkruns for Great Bentley, with runners competing in various parks, one runner managing to fit in two! Martin Owen ran the Ipswich Chantry Park Parkrun in 25:07, then ‘raced’ over to Colchester to complete their Parkrun in 24:44 on the same day. Other New Year parkrunners in Colchester were Paul Hollidge 21:43, Scott Young 26:19, Claudia Keitch 26:19, Lee Clarkson 21:37; John Bush 31:28 and Chusa Bautista Fructuoso 26:02. Ade Cherry ran the Dulwich New Years Day Parkrun in 21:12, his fastest 5k time to date.

Russ Sharp won the Colchester Castle Parkrun on Saturday 3rd January in just 17:57. Ade Cherry also ran in 22:18, Martin Owen 26:30, Michael Belton 21:51 and Paul Hollidge 22:24.

The same day saw the Essex Cross Country Championships held at Ashton Park, Woodford. Charlie Keitch completed the 7 mile course in 51:01, in extremely muddy conditions.  Helene Tyler also took part, finishing in 58:19.