Essex 20

Unseasonably warm weather was the order of the day for the Essex 20 mile championship race at Langham on Sunday 9th March. Twenty-seven Great Bentley runners took part, with many gaining PBs despite the heat. GBRC ladies Vicky Presland (2:33:29, PB), Eileen Shadford (2:44:09,PB) and Anna Lyon (2:49:16) took third place in the team event, gaining an Essex bronze. Presland also won Essex silver in the FV35 category, Shadford Essex bronze FV45 and Barbara Law (3:32:44) Essex gold FV65. Runners clocking PBs were Michael Simmons (2:27:39), Martin Owen (3:16:10), Samantha Godden (3:11:15), Andy Fuller (2:53:14), Shawn Leek (2:43:42), Chris Warren, first Bentley man home, (2:10:38), and Miriam Mark (3:11:37). Other runners were Charlie Keitch (2:23:01), Ben Ficken (2:24:10), Dave Goldsmith (2:26:35), Kevin Stevens (2:34:49), Tom Fowler (2:39:46), Paul Carlisle (2:41:28), Jamie Neill (2:42:39), Steve Black (2:48:07), Janine Simpson (2:49:26), Emma Town (3:01:19), Kate Ellis (3:12:14), Karen Skene (3:16:22), Maison Urwin (3:19:02), Lex Carlisle (3:29:36), John MacKay (3:37:04), Belinda Palmer Barnes (4:28:03) and Ruth Metcalfe (4:36:30).
Mark Crittenden smashed his previous PB by 2 minutes at the Colchester Parkrun on Saturday 8th March in 25:19. Malcolm Jarvis finished in 20:52.